Annie

Thinking

In Actions in Activities, Musings, Pictures on January 8, 2013 at 1:24 am

I’ve been thinking today.

We had a book club meeting where we discussed “Dystopian fiction.” Boy, that was a nice workout for your noodle. Thinking about how the world in general is, in the rawest sense of the word, dystopian. Think about it yourself. We began as a perfect utopia, the garden. We had everything we needed, everything we wanted, and then sin was introduced. BAM! Dysfunction in the truest form. Now a utopia is impossible. One day it will be restored, but not by us. Man has tried many times to create a utopia, it always ends in murder and even more dysfunction than before. There is absolutely nothing we can do to escape that. The one thing we can do to gain peace is to learn to live peaceably and seek the true Giver of Peace.

Not all my thinking today has been about such weighty subjects though.

On the way home from book club Meg, Claire and I began working on a gangster picture book idea where all the characters have cheese names. My favorite name has to be Mascarpone. Say it out loud. Mas Carpone. ^-^

Previously I hadn’t ever used conditioner after I washed it. I did this time and it’s so much softer. You never know if something is low quality unless you try something seemingly extravagant. Go figure.

Something else that I’ve been thinking about is growing up. I’m 18. I’m graduating. I’m trying to get a job. Thinking about getting a tattoo if you can believe it (nothing huge or scandalous). One of my sweet friends got engaged on Friday.  Another is getting married in just a couple of weeks. One of my friend’s older brothers just got married. Not to mention Lady Mary and Mathew (lol it’s about time!) ;). Reminds me of a few things I’ve heard regarding the subject. “It takes a really good man to be better than no man at all” and then “If you aren’t content single, you won’t be content married.” Good things to remember when your a single girl in the midst of all these relationships.

DSCF8619 Growing up is about more than marrying and leaving the house. Those aren’t even requirements. But just because it’s not required doesn’t mean that staying home your whole life is a better alternative. Just Do Something is a great little book about God’s Will, by the way. While those of us in the homeschooler culture tend to think of “kidults” as usually being public schooled. I think we have just as much of a problem. We aren’t growing up either. We may not be moving back, but that’s because we haven’t left! We need to quit assuming and start making things happen. You’ve graduated highschool. It’s perfectly fine to stay home. You don’t have to go to college. But if you stay home, contribute. Contribute to the family, the church, the community. Learn, better yourself. WORK. Don’t use your singleness as an excuse! True love waits, perhaps. It might be waiting in the future, but that doesn’t mean you have to just sit around and wait for something to come that might never have even started. That’s not a bad thing. Paul says it’s even better if you remain single.

I Corinthians 7:7-9 Yet I wish that all men were even as I myself am. However, each man has his own gift from God, one in this manner, and another in that. But I say to the unmarried and to widows that it is good for them if they remain even as I. But if they do not have self-control, let them marry; for it is better to marry than to burn with passion.

For more readin’ on this subject:

My take on the “Stay At Home Daughter” movement. I’m not dissing the idea at all. I plan to stay home myself. I just also plan on furthering my education and working. It’s neat to look back at these old posts. 🙂

An awesome post about the “Childish Homeschooler Syndrome” pandemic. The first thing that got me thinking today.

Mazel Tov

Leave a Comment