Annie

Books

In Musings, Pictures on January 10, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Man alive! It feels like England out there. A heavy fog bank rolled in this afternoon. I don’t know what it is, but fog always makes me feel poetic and mysterious. Good weather for reading, and watching Star Trek, but it’s always good weather for that.

DSCF9017

I just finished reading “The Princess and The Goblins” today. Totally did NOT end how I thought it would. The climax wasn’t what or where I thought it would be. It was actually very refreshing to not be able to predict the plot of a story. Just goes to show you how good of a writer George MacDonald is. So far, I’ve read three of his books and his story-lines are amazing. I really love it when a book doesn’t follow a cliche. For instance, there is Princess Irene and Curdie, so you assume they will get married in the end, or that it would at least say something to make you assume they would later. Suffice it to say that is not how it ended. You should just read it yourself, I’m not going to tell you anything.

The theme for our book club this month is “Books to Movies”. Now, I like this theme much better than the one we had for last month, “Dystopian”, but it posed much of a problem. I’ve already read everything. What could I read that has a movie that I like? If I like a movie, I usually read or have read the book if there is one. Alice in Wonderland! Oh YES! I love that one! It needs to be new? Ah. So my options are very limited. All I could think of was, Tarzan of the Apes, The Jungle Book, Sense and Sensibilities, and a couple of other ones I can’t remember. Meg chose Tarzan and Claire chose Jungle Book. So when we went to the library I looked for Sense and Sensibilities. I suppose I was stalling when I went to the DVD rack. In browsing the titles I saw a few I thought we’d like to watch so I picked them up. Then I noticed an old favorite. The Princess Bride (“by S. Morganstern, chapter one…”). BAM! That’s a book! And more importantly, that’s a book I’ve never read! I went over (hopefully nonchalantly lol) to the catalog computer and looked it up.

“The Princess Bride: S. Morgenstern’s Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure” by William Goldman was all that would come up. That was just awesome. I don’t like reading abridged books. The fact that they exist kind of kills something in me. The author went to the trouble of writing out all those words for you, and you just went in and hacked out any parts that seemed to go too long for “the modern reader”. I’m serious. Any time I see someone reading an abridged version of a book, I cringe and automatically think a little teensy weensy bit less of them. That’s a topic for another day.

I asked the librarian if she could find an unabridged copy in her computer (They have access to other libraries catalogs for inter-library loan). She looked but couldn’t find anything so she called over another librarian. They searched for a while, even on the internet, but couldn’t find anything by S. Morgenstern. I asked them to go ahead and put the abridged one on hold for me, and we went home. After some research of my own, I found a little piece of information that made a world of difference.

There is no S. Morgenstern.

He is a made up pen name. Guess who wrote the original “Princess Bride?” William Goldman. He wrote and “abridged” his own book. I metaphorically died laughing.

After finishing “The Princess and the Goblins” today I went to the library to return it. Claire and Adam went with me and Claire wanted to get on the computer, so I got another volume of Sherlock Holmes (I had a copy of “The Hounds of Baskerville” checked out already but hadn’t started it yet).Ok, I’m going to be honest. I’ve never read Sherlock Holmes, or seen any thing but spoofs on Star Trek and Veggietales.  I’m almost done with the first chapter and it’s already captivating. I’m familiar with Holmes enough that I understood what he meant by his methods. It actually reminded me of  Psych in some ways. I’ve only seen one episode of the one and read not even one chapter of the other, so if I’m totally wrong that’s probably why.  What I mean is the noticing the smallest of things and deducing the meaning from the combinations and placements. I believe I’ve found a good book, and the perfect weather for reading it. 🙂DSCF9006

Leave a Comment

