Annie

JOY!

In Musings on December 25, 2013 at 10:31 am

“Do not be afraid; for behold, I bring you good news of great joy which will be for all the people;  for today in the city of David there has been born for you a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.”

Lately I have been thinking about guilt. I have a lot of it. Guilt that I shouldn’t have done something that I can’t really fix now. That I missed an opportunity that I should have taken. It’s usually that I did something I shouldn’t have. But there is something that I have heard a lot recently.

We can’t mess up. We are given a free gift that we could never earn and can never deserve. We are on the winning team, and we won’t be kicked off.

This is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it!

Because of this, we should be joyful, but so many people aren’t! Why do we do that?! We go around all torn up because of our guilt.

We have a little thing in our family. It started when someone said something about a guilty conscience, but kind of stumbled over the words and said conference. “Welcome to the Guilty Conference!”–turns to the side and hides face”Oh! I can’t believe I said that!”

So often Christian gatherings turn into Guilty Conferences! We get together, and instead of rejoicing and celebrating the freedom we have in Christ, we mope about and talk about all the rules we are following, and how hard it is to do, and how “people these days” aren’t following them.

How about this? Be honest about your own failures, but don’t focus on them, because you are free from them, use them to point back to how amazing God is. And then, celebrate. Even if you are just celebrating the fact that God can use someone as messed up as you, that’s a start. Just truly be happy. Seriously, there should be a whole lot more celebrating in the Christian community than there is. Why don’t we get excited about things? We have so much to be happy about!

Leave a Comment

