Annie

A Boring Character

In Books and Movies, Musings, Short on December 11, 2013 at 12:10 am

I often find myself in a position of slight self pity because I don’t have an epic story. I have grown up in a Christian family, I was saved at a young age. I don’t have one of those dramatic testimonies. I am making peace with that. It’s a work in progress. The fact that even someone who isn’t all that bad still needs Jesus is what I have to keep reminding myself of.

But this lack of back-story has also made me frustrated for other reasons. If I were a character in a story, I would not get to be the one that goes off to battle, even though she is a woman. That is always a character that has some tragic back-story.

Eowyn was an orphan raised in her uncle’s court. She went through the pain of losing her parents and her cousin, having her brother exiled and seeing her uncle become poisoned and possessed. She was able to go off to war with the army. She did what no man could do.

Then I think of Maid Marian. In the BBC version of the story,  as the sheriff’s daughter, she was raised as a lady. She didn’t have rough life. It wasn’t until Robin left and Sir Guy took over that Marian became an interesting character. Nothing happened to her. She saw what was happening to others and acted. She took care of the townspeople. It wasn’t her own pain that provoked her to action, but someone else’s. She ended up saving lives and kicking some bad guy booty, all with no other reason other than that it needed doing. I could do that.

I just have to keep reminding myself that my story is just getting started. So far it hasn’t been very dramatic, but I’m not even 20 years into it yet. I can’t let this slow time get me stuck. There is a lot of time left for a good story.

  1. Sweetie, I was saved at the age of three. I think that’s about the most beautiful story you can have, to know Jesus from your youth. Trust me, lots of people will wish they could trade places! Your story can be what you want it to be!!! You have an adventurers’ heart, my Annie! You’re the main character in the story God is writing about you! 🙂 You are the heroine, and it’s okay to be who you are. 🙂 You are NOT boring! You’re the treasure… you’re the lost princess, you’re the one with the hidden gifts and talents that will save the day. 🙂 And I love who you are!! 🙂

Leave a Comment

