Annie

Superstitious Deism or True Love?

In Books and Movies, Musings on November 6, 2013 at 10:37 pm

I have heard several people refer to the UK as a “post-christian society.” This bugs me. It’s not just because most of my favorite actors, writers, musicians and tv shows come from there, but because I don’t think it is an accurate assessment.

They aren’t post Christian, they are post superstition. The Christianity that they have is primarily the Church of England. They are a cultural church, not a personal church.

When people around me refer to “Post-Christian” it is usually in response to my fangirling about either Sherlock, Doctor Who or Downton Abbey (No one complains when I talk about Robin Hood…). They respond this way because of the way that the British media over accentuates homosexuality or how they mock Christianity. Then they look at me like my Salvation is in question when I say something to the effect of “Yeah, but it doesn’t bother me.” A pig stinks.

I’m going to focus on the mocking of Christianity. This has usually been with Doctor Who. There are whole subplots and sometimes even plots, devoted to mocking Christianity. This one not only doesn’t bother me, I kind of agree with it. The only Christianity that most Brits have been exposed to is an archaic and superstitious religion. It is, dare I even breathe the word? Mockworthy. Because it isn’t true. Christianity without the Gospel is worth mocking. It doesn’t make any sense at all. True Christianity doesn’t make enough sense on its own, but without love and the Gospel, it is absolute folly. Why should we follow a 2,000 year old list of rules put in place by some cosmic being, that we aren’t really sure exists?

I actually don’t blame them. If that was the only kind of “Christians” I had ever met, I would probably mock them too. If I weren’t saved. But, because I know what they are missing, they both make me weep. I feel sorry for the mockers because the only thing they have is a foolish shadow, so they mock it. At first I get mad at the church-goers because they are only perpetuating this shadow, but then, I feel sorry for them because they don’t know any better.

It doesn’t bug me that they mock their “church”. That’s not who I am. What does bother me is that their “church” calls itself Christian. It is moralistic, therapeutic, deism masquerading as a way to salvation. If these mockers were confronted with a society of people who had a true relationship with the risen Savior and lived in a manner worthy of the Gospel, they would likely not recognize it as Christianity.

I’ll leave you with something I’ve been chewing on. How can we make sure our faith doesn’t become superstitious? What would it look like if it was?

  1. I’m curious, which episode(s) of Doctor Who did you feel mocked Christianity? I can definitely see how “The Rings of Akhaten” could offend (it’s my favorite from series 7 BUT it was annoying that the Doctor basically tore apart the planet’s culture by showing who the god/parasite really was); were there any others?

    • I didn’t feel offended in any of them, but my grandparents were over when we watched “Gridlock” and they felt that it did. I wasn’t offended at all. The theme is kind of in there in several episodes, I can’t remember which ones at the moment, but “Gridlock” was the episode I had in mind at the time of writing this. Thanks for commenting! πŸ™‚

    • I’m also curious. haha! How did you find your way to my blog? I don’t get very many hits from people I don’t know, let alone comments! πŸ™‚

      • Oh, from your sister’s blog. MusicalLamb? I found her through someone else’s blog, who I in turn found from the YWP NaNo.

      • Ah, ok. πŸ™‚ I thought your username looked familiar, but assumed it was just the Tree of Gondor. πŸ™‚ I did NaNo YWP a few years back (when I actually could haha), but haven’t really done much fiction work since then. I’m actually working on a fantasy short story now. πŸ™‚ Thanks again for the read and comment!

Leave a Comment

