Annie

Life is Good

In Musings on September 19, 2013 at 12:31 am

I have a lot to complain about.

I have a cold. I didn’t get as many chapters memorized as I wanted to this month. I don’t have a job. I don’t have a husband, boyfriend or even a potential boyfriend. I don’t have a lot of free time anymore. I’m not in school like most of my friends. I don’t really have all that many good friends. I don’t have a laptop or a car. Basically, I don’t have everything I want.

But, right now, I’m feeling really good about my life. I’m busy, but that means I don’t have time to be as lazy. I don’t have a job, per se, but I have childcare jobs pretty much every weekday. This is something I love doing and it’s the equivalent of a part-time job. I’m content in my singleness. Contentedness comes and goes, but for now, I’m happy. Nearly all my friends live really far away, and I don’t have very many, but the ones I do have are very precious to me. I’m saving money to get the material things I need, but they aren’t urgent needs. I have what I need for now.

I’m feeling really blessed. Blessed to live in a time and place where these things are attainable.

I was watching Robin Hood the other day. The episode featured an Abbot who was betraying Robin and his gang. No one could understand why he was lying about them and condemning them. He had been faithful in the past and stayed out of politics for the most part. Why was he suddenly misleading the people? The Sheriff had something that would ruin the Abbot of Kirklees, but what could be so precious that he would be so evil? For most of the episode I was thinking it must be some scandal that the Sheriff was threatening to expose. That’s how it usually goes. Then Friar Tuck has a little chat with the Abbot. This is bigger than scandal. It is heresy. The Abbot would be in deep jelly babies if this came to light.

Before I tell you what this blasphemous act was, I want you to remember what time this is. It is before around the Renaissance. This is a time of extreme superstition and dishonesty.

So what was the Abbot doing that was so wrong? He was translating the Bible to English. He had been translating the word of God into the language of the people for ten years.  And the Sheriff had his manuscript.

The story comes to its peak, the Abbot is still carrying on his charade, Robin and the gang are tied and about to burned at the stake. The flames are licking up the wood, Robin gets free and escape is eminent, but worthless unless the Abbot will retract his sentence. The Abbot knows Robin is a good man, so he tells the truth. The Sheriff throws the manuscript into the flames and the Abbot tries to retrieve his work. The show ends with a pair of bandaged hands holding a burnt page and a pen. “In the beginning…”

I know this is just a TV show, but I couldn’t help but tear up at the end. The lengths that these men went to get the Bible to the people is just something most of us take for granted. They were going against the church, the most powerful authority at the time. They were persecuted for spreading the Gospel.

It is amazing to me.

Sometimes I feel like I have a lot to complain about, but then God uses something as trivial as a TV show to make me so grateful. You know what? Life is good.

  1. Wow, that is so multilayered. His heresy was to treat the Word of God with ‘contempt’ by translating it into the vulgar language of the people. Kind of like the Koine ‘street Greek’ of Paul. Keep it up sweetie. You’re doing good work- the hard kind. This is good. Keep this up. I love to watch you my lioness. 🙂 -Dad

Leave a Comment

