Annie

I Think She’s Trying to Speak To Me

In Actions in Activities, Camp, Musings on September 17, 2013 at 12:09 am

You may not know this about me, or maybe it’s so ingrained in my being that I do it here too, but I’m kind of known for my strange metaphors and correlations, and very creative and abstract imagery. I find links in things that, I’m told, make people’s heads hurt. 

One night at camp we were having Divisional Campfire. Banty was telling the story of Joseph. She asked the girls what kept him going. What gave him strength? Several girls piped up with answers that were good, but not quite what she was looking for. Banty was about to move on, but I noticed one of the girls was kind of sitting behind her and still had her hand up. I said “Faith has an answer!”

Banty has this face she makes when I say something weird. It’s like she can tell I’m serious, but she’s not sure what planet I’m from. I could tell it wasn’t registering, so I repeated myself and pointed. She finally translated my alien dialect and got the answer she was thinking of. The next day we were talking about it. Banty was one of my CILT instructors, so she’s seen me in a Bible study. She said “I know Annie says things that make me think sometimes, but I wasn’t getting this.” That is a good illustration of what I mean about strange phrasing. “Faith has an answer” would be something I would say! 

I did this again at Bible Quiz practice last week. We were having a time of sharing about things we’ve learned from our chapters. Several people shared about James 1. This wasn’t a surprise, it’s a great chapter and pretty much everyone has it memorized. They were all saying pretty much the same thing. If you have faith God will give you wisdom, or that we should be doers of the word and not just hearers. And then raised my hand.

The main thing I see in this chapter is the focus on our actions and reactions.

In the first half it is talking about testing and temptation. It is about exercising your faith muscle. Under trial you strengthen that muscle and it shows up as perseverance , and that strength helps you through temptation.

The second half is about not just looking at the plaque on the wall for it’s beauty, but actually doing what it says. Instead of just studying it and saying “My, what a beautiful piece of work. I wonder where the bathroom is?” actually following the directions on the sign and finding the restroom. 

This really made me think about how our actions and words affect everything. It made me think about being intentional in our words and deeds. Not being absentminded or careless. If we don’t do things on purpose we are just hearing the word. We are letting things just happen, we aren’t doing them. 

I shared this, in a slightly more rambling way and not in as many words. Everyone in the room got that same look. That “You’re really cute, but I don’t know what you’re saying!” look. I like to think I just dig, not necessarily deeper, but at a different angle, than most of the world. 

Last week Dad showed me something in his sermon notes that made me make the same face. He was using Greek letters and other symbols to make some sort of pictograph. I had no idea what he was doing, but at least I know I come by it honestly.

  1. Wow. This is really good Annie. Hang in there. You have my apologies and pride over your quirky brilliance. I love you. Keep up the good work! This is good stuff! I have no greater joy than to see you guys when these lightbulbs come on over your heads. 😉 You rock!
    -Dad

  2. Enjoyed hearing of your digesting the book of James. We are so proud of our oldest grandchild! Our hearts are blessed.

  3. lol, Annie, if it’s any consolation, I understand you most of the time. 🙂 🙂 Your father can attest to the fact that I have a long history of deciphering Halls and their brilliant angles. 😀

  4. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on James, Annie. Yes, how important that we move from inspiration to action! Wonderful things to think about–and put into practice! =) Hope your sweet family is doing well . . . we think of you all often and miss you! Love you, Bekah P

  5. […] I have mentioned before, I make some kind of “out-there” connections. Well, hold on to your hats, ’cause […]

Leave a Comment

