Annie

What to Read? Before They Can Read

In Books and Movies, Musings on September 10, 2013 at 12:01 am

::FANFARE:: I have been posting every Wednesday for a little over a month now, but I’m about to change that. This week I sat down and started writing. I got done and had enough posts for about a month. So, I have decided to post twice a week! From now on, you can look for me on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

So, I was thinking, and I said to myself, “Annie, why not do a post with a list of favorite picture books? It’s not that hard to find ok ones, but you can get stuck in a rut.” So I kept thinking to myself, and I decided to go ahead and do another post in my What to Read series . These are some of my favorite books to read out loud.

1. Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Bill Martin J.r.

This is a fun alphabet book. My mom may kill my, but I like it better than Dr. Seuss’s ABCs in terms of the verse. It just kind of makes you want to rap the whole thing. By the way, kids really like it if you do rap or sing this whole book.

2. Runny Babbit by Shel Silverstein

Another weat grork by Sel Shilverstein. This book off quirky poems is all jumbled up.

3. The Stinky Cheese Man: And Other Fairly Stupid Tales by  Jon Scieszka

A book of unconventional fairytales. This is great for anyone who likes “Fractured Fairy Tales” from Rocky and Bullwinkle.

4. Love You Forever by  Robert N. Munsch

This is one of those sweet mama-baby books. I can’t really read it out loud, but I do read it to myself sometimes, with a box of tissues handy. Some day I’ll read it out loud to my babies, but for now it’s for the mama’s. 🙂

5. Press Here by  Hervé Tullet

This is one of those books that I just kind of had to open. It’s so fun! Follow the directions and see what happens in this colorful book.

6. This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

We were wandering around Target one day when we saw this book on the rack and had to read it. Out loud to the whole book section. It is so CUTE! Very simple, but adorable! It reminds me of Rainbow Fish in a way, maybe the artwork, but it’s really pretty much the opposite story.

7. Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne

Another book I just love! I read this to myself every once in a while, just for nostalgia’s sake.

8. the Charlie and Lola books by Lauren Child

We first met Charlie and Lola on the video shelf at the library. These are very sweet stories about a brother and his little sister, “I have this little sister Lola. She is small, and very funny.” Charlie is a very kind older brother who takes good care of Lola, they really remind me of Adam and Hannah (on most days). There are many lines that have become Hallisms, such as ” Such-n-such is my favorite and my best.”

9. Anything by Dr Seuss

Not a title of a book. I just mean it. Dr. Seuss was an amazing writer. He was so creative. I really haven’t read any of them that I haven’t enjoyed in some aspect.

There are so many good picture books out there, this is just a very short list of some of my favorites. What’s on your list?

  1. Haha totally agree about Chicka Chicka Boom Boom! You really do have to rap it. That is a favourite book around here 🙂

  2. I love the Charlie and Lola books by Lauren Child; but was disappointed by several of them. Upon closer examination I discovered that Lauren Child did not write all of the books that have her name on them. (That explained a lot.) Still, what she did write is golden.

    • Interesting. I didn’t know they weren’t all actually written by her. Our library has a nice little collection, of them, but no where near all of them. Thanks for the comment! I really liked what I have seen of your site!

  3. Richard Scarry books, The Tawny Scrawny Lion (a little golden book), The Little Engine that Could, Mother Goose book (minus the scary/creepy ones), Peter Rabbit. When they got a little older, my kids enjoyed chapter books like The Trumpet of the Swan, Stuart Little, and The Incredible Journey. (oops, I went past picture books a bit).

Leave a Comment

