Annie

Re-assimilating; Notes From a First Year Counselor, Part One: Poisoned by Sol

In Camp, Pictures on July 2, 2013 at 5:39 pm

I started working on my traditional back from camp post, but I realised something.  I was typing along and I looked down. 300 words and camp hadn’t even started yet. That plus the fact that I have dozens of picture lead me to the conclusion that it is time for another series! Therefore I bring you my longest title in four years!

Re-assimilating; Notes From a First Year Counselor, Part One: Poisoned by Sol

On June 3rd Mom took everyone but me and Dad to Metropolis for the week. Dad was at work all day so I was basically home alone until I left for camp on Thursday. This was ok… but the first thing I did was really dumb.

I love reading. Even more than that I love reading outside. And even more than that I love reading good books outside!

I had been trying to get a little bit of a tan before camp so that I didn’t burn (Learned that the first year, if you go to camp still wintry white you will burn).DSCF0334

I put on my cami and shorts, grabbed my Bible Ex book (cabin Bible study) and the diary of Anne Frank and went out. Long story short, I was an idiot and spent over an hour outside, without sunscreen but with my paleness. As soon as I got in I started seeing a bit of red. This should have been a big warning.

Fast forward to Saturday morning.

This was my third day at camp doing life guard training. Everyday, as a warm up (which we needed in the 58° water) we had to swim 550 yards without stopping. In the pool at camp that is 13 1/2 laps. I had done this for two days with very little sunscreen. Outside of the laps we had a lot of diving and other swimming. Basically, by Friday night we swam over 1100 yards. A football field is 100 yards.

Every day my sunburn was getting worse and I was getting more and more fatigued.

After thinking and praying all morning I decided it was time to quit. I didn’t want to be exhausted before camp even started.

Looking back it is pretty obvious that I had sun poisoning. At the time I attributed all the symptoms to extreme physical activity, but after careful analysis I am thoroughly convinced it was sun poisoning. Right after I decided it was the right thing to do the blisters started coming up.

It’s really hard for me to quit something like that, but I felt peace about it and now I know what to expect when I try again next year. Next time I will not fail! DSCF0323

  1. […] there?”, but there was also a good bit of “what did you learn?”. You may remember my five part series, ”Re-assimilating“, about my first time as a counselor at Camp […]

  2. […] 8 barrels-turned-train-cars. My thumb felt like it was going to fall off and I now have a fantastic sunburn on the backs of my hands. Once the sun went down and the train was put away, I worked in the […]

Leave a Comment

