Annie

Of Camp and Birthdays

In Actions in Activities, Camp on May 27, 2013 at 6:51 pm

I can’t believe it’s only 12 days ’til camp!

I’ve been getting things together for months, so it’s really strange to actually, really almost be there! I’m finished reading the staff manual (which apparently makes me an over-achiever lol) and almost done with the Bible study.

For first week our theme is “Time Machine” and we are going to decorate the cabin all futuristic and spacey (wacey). Lots of chrome and white. 🙂 I’m looking forward to it! I plan on making full use of our enormous roll of white butcher paper and stocking up on silver wrapping paper from dollar tree.

Second week is “NeKaMo, The Musical”. It’s taken me a while to think of a way to decorate for that, but I think I’ve got it! At first I was thinking of doing something from Phineas and Ferb, perhaps “Roller Coaster” or something. But after trying to figure out how to decorate for that I decided on “The Music Man.” It is, after all, my favorite musical, plus, much easier to decorate for. One of my favorite scenes is the library scene where they all dance through the bookshelves, over the tables, up the stairs and all along the catwalks. Note: I am referring, of course to the 1962 version with Robert Preston and Shirley Jones. Matthew Broderick is, always has been, and forever will be, Inspector Gadget.  Welcome to Madison Public Library! To do this I plan to use my handy dandy butcher paper as shelves and construction paper as books. I may do some names on some of the spines, but I’m not sure how much time I will have to work on decorating.

Friday was Claire’s 13th birthday! We now have 3 teenagers in the house! She had planned to have her tea party on her birthday, but no one was able to come so we have to reschedule. We still wanted to make her day special, so we planned a day of surprises! She started by waking up to a gift of soaps and bath things and then going out to eat with Mom and Dad (she knew about lunch) in her birthday TARDIS. We painted the car with “Traffic And Relative Distance In Space” and a bunch of other DW related things along with the obligatory “HAPPY 13th BIRTHDAY!” After they were done eating Mom and Dad gave Claire a chocolate bar and the clue to their next stop (all clues penned by  Mom, Meg and me):

Your next destination

With chocolate goes well

The poem proves that

You think it is swell

 

Next she had a surprise trip to Starbucks. After they got Frappuccinos they gave Claire a new hairbrush and:

You’ve wanted to do

This for quite a while

A tip of the hat to

Your Clairey-flair style

 

They took Claire to get her hair cut and (Surprise!) we met them there. She got a SUPER cute bob/chop thing. I’m not really sure what to call it, but it’s very short in the back and slants forward to chin length in the front. She got socks and money and her clue:

Put them on after socks

That is what you do

You’ll think this place rocks

We think you do too!

 

This was the only one that she figured out. Claire, Meg and I went to The Legends (a huge strip/outdoor mall kind of thing) and went to the Converse Outlet. She got a pair of Tardis blue high-tops! What she didn’t expect was a stop at Hot Topic to   get a Doctor Who t-shirt. We hadn’t ever been there before, but I heard they had DW stuff so we checked it out. I have discovered my new favorite place to get shirts. Not only do they have most of my favorite memes in t-shirt form, they have Doctor Who and My Little Pony stuff!. Claire got a shirt with a weeping angel as “Michelangelo’s Man” and I got “Keep Calm and Don’t Blink.” ❤ After we got done shopping we gave her a flashlight and the last clue:

Dark it will be

With food to consume

But with this you can see

It won’t be in a room

 

She assumed this was referring to the graduation party we were going to on the way home. Wrong. We did go to a friends party for a while (and got to see a bunch of camp people!) and eat outside, but the surprise was waiting at home. We got back and Dad had the tent up and a fire going. We all started talking about the shopping trip and showed them our shirts. We were about to go in when Dad asked Claire to go get the bikes out so Hannah and Adam could show their tricks. Claire went to get them and the whole shed erupted with squeals and laughter and Claire and her friends came running out!  We had a lovely sleep-out! BTW a “sleep-out” is a cross between a sleepover and a campout. You take all the sleeping bags and movies and giggles of a slumber party and put it in a tent (with an extension cord for the TV).

It was all great fun and Claire said it was her best birthday ever! 😀

Leave a Comment

