Annie

A Lovely Way to Spend an Evening

In Actions in Activities, Musings on May 8, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Happy 220th post!

This was funny to me. None of the results surprize me at all! I’m a derpy-word-nerd-trekiwhovian. ^_^
NerdTests.com says I'm a Slightly Dorky High Nerd.  Click here to take the Nerd Test, get nerdy images and jokes, and write on the nerd forum!

Ok, so, about the titles. I have a tough time coming up with names so I like to use the name of a song I listened to whilst writing this post. Last time I was getting ready for Elegant Evening and I liked that title better than any of the others I listened to. I was going to title this post “Baby It’s Cold Outside”, because it did in fact come up on my Pandora, it is uncommonly cold. In fact, drum roll please. <brtrtrt> It snowed. I’m not kidding at all. Last Thursday it snowed about 2-3 inches. I’m still kind of in shock.  But anyway, I would like to focus more on recent events and less on the weather. lol

Elegant Evening was splendid fun. It was contra dancing similar to what I have done before, so knowledge helped make up for clumsiness. There were only a couple of guys (although most of the dads danced at least a couple and our caller danced almost all of the dances), so many of us had to dance as boys. It really doesn’t matter for this kind of dancing though, it can make it a bit confusing sometimes, but it does make it less awkward. It was great fun, and didn’t feel like three hours at all. Perhaps one, but certainly not three.

Last Tuesday (30th not the 7th) Meg, Claire and I gave our speeches. Megs was about alter egos, focusing on Superman, The Scarlet Pimpernel and Julia Child. It was really interesting and she did marvelously. My speech was quite fun. It was a demonstration on making apple cobbler in a dutch oven. Normally it wouldn’t have been to entertaining, but once I got done explaining what a dutch oven is and got into the cooking show it really kicked up. Literally  I started out by setting out my cartons of “ingredients”  (small cardboard boxes marked butter, sugar, flour and milk). I nonchalantly put the ingredients in my large bowl as I told the steps.  Then I took my wooden spoon and began pounding the boxes and mixing them up. Everyone in the room jumped when I first began beating boxes, and then laughed as I kept the gag up. It was wonderful fun, and it was going very well, but I got so caught up in it I lost my place and cut my ending short. It didn’t affect my score though and I don’t think the teacher noticed (at least she didn’t seem to when I mentioned it afterwards). Unfortunately, Claire gave her speech about Betta Fish (complete with live fish! Volucris was fine on the car ride to and from, but Claire got a little bit wet lol) as I was in the kitchen scooping up cobbler for everyone. 😦

Poetic Voices was right after debate, and it was brilliant. There were the usual cliche “woe is me, I am undone” poems, but there were also quite a few that really made me chuckle. Claire was the opener and did a fantastic job! Everyone laughed at all the right places! Meg did a wonderful job as well! She was so poised and elegant, tranquilly talking about leaves and then, their demise.  It was so funny! 😀 Mine went much better than last time! I didn’t hide behind my hair (thanks to my crochet hook) and a think I spoke clearly and with good tone. I may have been a bit close to the microphone though, and I coughed into it. Stupid allergies.

I know I already talked about my graduation, but I want to share something God is teaching me. I had been wondering how I was going to get the registration deposit together for my doula training, let alone pay for the rest of  it.  The total sum of my graduation gifts was almost exactly what I need to reserve a spot in the class. Ok God, You have my attention. You will provide everything I need.  I’m not wondering how to earn the money I need. I’m not wondering how to get a job or why even McDonalds hasn’t called me back. I may be curious, but He will take care of it.

I have some more news, but I’ll save that for Friday (hint)!

Geronimo!!

Leave a Comment

