Annie

I Won’t Dance

In Actions in Activities, Musings, Pictures on April 23, 2013 at 12:53 am

An abundance of things have occurred since my last post!

We’ve had a deluge of events!

A wealth of happenings!

A Myriad!

Heaps!

Gobs!

Lots!

 

Random bit of trivia #1

I have old music tastes. Swing, r&b, big band, rock & roll, doo-wop, rockabilly and jazz. Elvis is king, but Frank is chairman of the board.

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/31aUQ93Ambo?rel=0&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Ok, enough of that. 🙂 I suppose I’ll go in a chronological order.

On the 12th we had a debate tournament. We had fun, but only won one of our 3 debates. Oma and Opa came up on Wednesday for my graduation and also got to come to the tournament. The one debate Oma, Opa and co. got to see was the one we won. Guess the family is my lucky charm. 😉

 

DSCF9664

Mummy

On the 14th we had my graduation open house.

Tackle hug!!

Tackle hug!!

It was really fun, even though I ended up giving a speech (of sorts 🙂 ) and playing piano (such as it is). I was so blessed by all the folks who came by to share some cake with us.

*tinytardis*

*tinytardis*

I got to see a bunch of people I haven’t gotten to see in a long time, some almost a year.

Rufous, Pigeon and Sparrow

Rufous, Pigeon and Sparrow

Last Saturday we had the last tournament of the year. This was my first time being on a team with Meg and Claire, we did a great job!  For our last debate we were government so we got to come up with the case. We did a Doctor Who case. The Doctor should take Van Gogh to the museum before fighting the monster. It was so much fun and the opposition did a phenomenal job even though we had to explain everything to them and they still didn’t quite understand what we were talking about.

I’m really not sure who won. They said that instead of going to the museum to boost his morale  the Doctor should take Van Gogh to a monster fighting school. I’m not sure if we pushed the lack of mutual exclusivity enough to win. Honestly, I don’t care who won. It was one of the most fun cases I’ve ever debated or seen. I’ve discovered I love fictional cases, but I’m not good at coming up with them. I told Meg and Claire that for my last debate I wanted to do a Doctor Who case and they pretty much came up with it.

DSCF9768

My last speech, of my last debate, of my last tournament.

I was thrilled to find out that we won half of our debates (Still don’t know which ones)! When a team wins the majority of their debates they are awarded an IBC root beer. Not only is it the best root beer, and the only kind I like, it stands for the parts of a speech. Introduction, Body and Conclusion.

It was a great day and an amazing note to go out on.

 

DSCF9792

IBC root beer, the only root beer I like.

On a less amazing note, right after we left the tournament the van broke down and is in the shop, so we are now a one car family. Not a one vehicle family, one car. We can transport a total of 4 people at once (unless one of them is the baby, then we can move 5). Hopefully we will have it back sometime this week.

Peaches are blooming!

Peaches are blooming!

Today was a day of awesomesauce news, and it all happened at once! Once we got home from the library we picked up the mail and brought it up to the house. There was a big manila envelope from Mom’s lactation counselor training place. We didn’t open it, but we did hold the back tight enough to read through the paper. It said “Congratulations!” We squealed but had to contain ourselves long enough for Mom to read it herself.

While we were gone mom got a call from the library. It sounded very official at first, and Mom got concerned that we owed too much in fines or something (lol mini heart attack). Is this beginning to sound familiar? The librarian asked for me and said my poem “Sureality” had been chosen as a finalist for Hville in the county wide poetry contest. She then proceeded to ask if  Meg was also her daughter. One of Meg’s poems was also chosen as a finalist. By the way, there are only 3 finalists from Hville. She then asked if Claire was Mom’s daughter. Now, Claire is too young to be eligible, but she sent in a protest poem about being too young. The librarians liked it so much that they are going to review the age requirement next year and she earned an Honorable Mention! Societal change for the win!

The big night just happens to be the evening after we give our speeches in debate class! A very big day for speaking! lol

 

Sureality

 

The crackled clouds move over the full moon

Like the surf drawing the sand out to sea

Creating the illusion of a hasty journey

Across the sinking ceiling of the heavens

 

The air is crisp and smelling of snow

Of a soft gentle whispering blanket

The voices of miles whisper to the listening ear

Carried on some unfelt breeze from afar

 

The clouds blown away by the unfelt wind

Expose the radiance of the clear full moon

Casting her beams like waves on the dunes

Moon shadows dance through the trees on silent wistful Elven toes

And the world sleeps

 

Song from the title.

  1. Wow… Pretty poem! I guess I haven’t read it before 🙂 I see why they chose it!

Leave a Comment

