Annie

Snowflakes Keep Falling On My Head

In Farm and Family, Pictures on January 6, 2013 at 10:21 pm

I think it was a good thing to do, albeit somewhat cliché, but I’m glad Seasons of Thankfulness is over. After always having the same thing to post for the past two months, it’s nice to get to just write about what’s going on for a change! 🙂

On New Year’s Eve we got a nice little dump of snow. There was still some on the ground from the Christmas Eve Eve snow.DSCF8814 Since Dad had the day off, we had a lovely amount of snow and no hills whatsoever, Dad took us to the park to sled. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned this, but I really love sledding. And snow. Snow forts. Snowflakes. Snowball fights (unless I’m wearing glasses, that just flat-out hurts). Basically, is the word “snow” is in it, assume I love it. I love how the snow is puffing up in this picture of Hannah. DSCF8813 Although we don’t have any hills on our property, the park in town has a couple of awesome ones. When we first got there around noon there was one little group of sledders on the big hill. As we drove up one of them was attempting to ride down on a snow board. She promptly wiped out. I’ve always found this twisted enjoyment in watching other teenagers trying to look cool, and failing miserably. That’s why I don’t even try. Of course, I don’t have to. 😉 Sorry, I just had to say that, totally joking. It’s kind of an inside joke with/about Dad. 🙂 DSCF8843 At first we went to the hill we rode two years ago, but quickly went over to the bigger hill. For a while the other guys stayed and we just sledded over where it wasn’t as steep (but still really awesome), but they soon left. We seem to have that effect when we go to the park. We then moved over to the steeper part, being careful not to go so far that we had to watch out for the creek. Soon other groups started coming. I think it was an extended family, they all seemed to know each other and they looked a like. Of course, this is a small town. Everyone pretty much looks the same anyway. 🙂 DSCF8812 I really love the look on Adam’s face in this picture! It’s pretty much how I feel when we sled. We all had such a fun time. It wasn’t too cold, but cold enough for the snow to be nice and fluffy. I missed the snow so much. Last winter we got maybe 2 inches total. We did get to make our traditional giant snowman, but that was it. It was good that we didn’t get much, Mom had at least one doctors appointment a week right there at the end with Josh.DSCF8809 It’s not what she’s doing in this picture, but Claire came up with a style called “The Sanguine Penguin.” Imagine a penguin sliding down with its wings back in an aerodynamic V. Pretty much just going face first. DSCF8792 Not sure if you can read it or not, if not, it’s your basic “no parking” sign. Why did I take a picture? Notice where it is. It is at the top of a fairly steep hill, leading up to a lake. I’m not sure why, but apparently it was needed. While the sign itself may be bleached out, the post was new. Reminds me of the spittoon in the court room with a new sign prohibiting spitting on the floor. As I said. It’s a small town. We had a couple of near run-ins with the big sycamores at the bottom of the hill, but I’m glad to say, no one got hurt! Well, Dad might have over-done it a bit on his shoulder, but no crashes. 🙂

Over all, it was a tremendous day. 🙂

Leave a Comment

