Annie

Add New Post

In Actions in Activities, Camp, Farm and Family, Pictures on January 1, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe it’s really weird. I love that button. I know it must not seem like it from time to time when I abandon my blog for weeks on end. I love getting to start from scratch. A blank field, a keyboard and an idea.

2012 was the shortest year I’ve ever experienced. How could we fit so much in just 366 days? Ah! It must have been that one extra day! I’ve always thought it was neat how leap year coincides with the Olympics and the presidential election.

On February 2nd Joshua David was born.  10 lbs 4oz of boy. He spent a week in the NICU for an unidentified infection. Not only was this our first C-section, it was our first experience in NICU. That week was the longest 7 days of the year, and yet, it feels like a blur. No fanfare. No applause.

In June Meg, Claire and I went to NeKaMo Camp. I went for both weeks, working on my CILT. While it is sad for my years as a camper to be over, I really do feel like it is time. Looking around, I saw girls that had been Challengers my first year were now Explorers. My baby sister was in her last year as a Challenger and my even babier sister was a first year Challenger! I am so looking forward to being a counselor next year, I’m already collecting ideas!  My first year of CILT was the first time I had been away from home for more than a week and I got really homesick. I was thankful to get to go home for the weekend. This year I had so much to do it didn’t feel like more than a few days. I didn’t go home for the weekend, so I only got to see my family during check in for Meg and Claire. Even then I only had a few minutes because I had to go with Rufus and Raven on a nature hike.

The day I remember the best is the very last day. After the excitement of graduations was over. We were on staff. Part of the mysterious club of grown-ups with bird names. We were Ginger, Snow, Raven, Sparrow and Pigeon. We got up early that morning and went to the Staff Bible Study. This mystical thing that our counselors get up crazy early for. It was a cool, misty, early summer morning. The five of us walked to the dining hall and sat at our table; Cabin 12.  Other counselors and staff came in and sat around us, just like it was a normal day. Like we belonged there. I felt like a babe among giants. There was Robin, Ducky, Rikki, Tweety, Grackle, everyone was there. Tross spoke in a tone of voice I had rarely heard before. Like she was talking to adults, not a camp of girls.

After the meeting was over, we started working on CILT Guard. Nearly all the past CILTs, now joined by the 5 of us, came together for the biggest Color Guard I’ve ever seen. Sparrow and Raven were part of an amazing Rifle Guard. It’s really hard to explain the feeling, other than a small fish in a big pond. Or maybe a small Pigeon in a big sky. No fanfare. No applause.

On July 25th I turned 18 years old. Every so often he tells me about right after I was born, usually when he wants me to look him in the eye or when I already am, we’re easily distracted like that. He held me in his arms 18 years ago and said “Hi. Your name is Annie. I’m your Daddy and I love you.” and I looked him in the eye. No fanfare. No applause.

October was a big month. My baby cousin PB was born just a few days after Meg’s birthday. Like Josh he spent some time in the NICU. Shortly after that my Great-Grand-Father died. We drove down to South-East Alabama for the funeral. It was good to get to see Oma and all the relatives, except for the reason. We got to go down to Panama City Beach while we were down there, something we haven’t gotten to do in a few years. It was raining, so we didn’t get to swim. I had never seen the beach in the rain before. It is so unlike anything I can describe. Such a lonely, roaring peace. There was no one in sight. The ice cold rain poured steadily. The surf was balmy. The constant roar of white caps. The gentle patter of the raindrops on the sand. Peace in the midst of such an emotional trip. Once we got done on the beach, we were soaking wet, and some of us were in regular clothes. We went over to a Walgreen’s and changed clothes, some of us into real clothes, some into our dry swim suits. On the trip back we home stopped for ice cream at Peach Park. No fanfare. No applause.

Who would be surprised that November was a big month. In the flurry of political hype, it’s good to remember a few things. These are real people. Jesus Christ died on the cross for their sins, just like He did for mine, and hopefully for yours. This is all going to burn. No matter who wins what and who is in what office. Jesus Christ is Lord of all. That means all kings, all rulers, all presidents, all offices. Everything. And in the end, that is all that matters. I voted for the first time. No fanfare. No applause.

This was PB’s and Josh’s first Christmas. We are SO blessed to have these precious boys with us, especially after their bumpy starts.DSCF8674 No fanfare. No applause.

Forget New Years Resolutions. Add New Post. No fanfare. No applause.

Leave a Comment

