Annie

Valentine’s Day 2012

In Actions in Activities, Pictures on February 15, 2012 at 1:46 am

I decided to do a Bottle Cap Pendant for my Valentine How-To. Now, I understand, this is girly cap, hey guys, you could make one of these for your gal if you’re so inclined (which I’ll explain if you keep reading), but honestly, this is just an example! Use a macho cap (like Monster or something, I don’t know) and wear it yourself if you want!

What you need:

Bottle cap

Hammer

Screw

Screwdriver

Turn the cap upside down (logo or other picture down) and hammer the edges down. This can be hard, but if you first gently bend it in using a sweeping motion inward. Once you have the edges bent in slightly, hammer away! You want them to be as flat as possible so they don’t scratch you.

Turn the cap back over and tap the screw into it with the hammer. After you get it started, hold the twist the screw into a piece of wood with the screwdriver to make the hole nice and big (this was the best way I’ve found, it holds the cap still and the hole is big and clean). Take the screw out and tap down the sharp edges it made around the hole. Smooth out any sharp edges either by tapping or sanding.  Hope you enjoyed this! It’s really simple to make. By the way, I used an Izze cap. Izze is a soda made from real fruit juice, it’s my absolute favorite brand (apple and blackberry being my favorite flavors) and it has an awesome logo :). I’m debating whether to make earrings or a necklace.

Dear Guys,

Now don’t tell me you don’t have a gal. Everyone does. Whether your gal is your mom, sister, daughter, sweetheart, whatever, you have at least one. Now, she may talk about how dumb Valentines day is or how it doesn’t mean anything to her, but the truth is (at least for most of us), we love it, and it doesn’t take much to make it great. Take my dear, sweet, Daddy for example. Every year, before we get up in the morning Daddy comes in and leaves a chocolate heart and sometimes a stuffed animal or a rose for each of us (even my brothers), and for Mama, a huge heart and roses (sometimes a dozen, sometimes another special number, this year it was 8 because there are now 8 in the family). He’s done this as long as I can remember.

The point is not to bowl her over, it’s to show that you love her. Even just a simple cut out paper heart means you care!  Adding Chocolate and/or flowers never hurt either.

I’d also like to point something out. This road goes both ways. On one hand, this will make her attitude towards you very fond, on the other hand,  this will make her attitude towards you very fond.

Be vewy cawefull.

Not just anyone should do this. The meanest thing you can do to a girl is play with her emotions. If you aren’t already in a relationship (leading to marriage), have permission from her father, or related, you should NOT, I repeat NOT send her a Valentine of any kind unless it is as a group where everyone gives everyone a “to-from” candy card (which, if you are old enough for this to be an issue, you probably aren’t doing those things anymore).   That may be the best way to wreck any affections she may have had for you (whether because she distrusts you or because her parents distrust you).

If you are in a relationship (whether courting, dating, I’m not going into it right now) and especially married, you had best bowl her over. The return on investment is astronomical. 😉

Not love, caution,

Annie

NOTE: This is partially a joke, but seriously, don’t mess with us. 😉

  1. That looks very cool.
    And I love the “dear guys” thing. Made me smile 😀

  2. I might have to try that, I’d make it for my self probably, I don’t think I have enough bottle caps for my whole family. Even though I collect glass bottles 😕 Gotta go! Bri π

Leave a Comment

