Annie

Unfinished business

In Actions in Activities, Farm and Family, Food, Musings, Pictures on December 1, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Hello!

I have returned from my writing hole! Actually, I haven’t, as it  is also known as the basement, and that is where the computer is. Plus, I’m… writing… now… Hmm… Oh well. 🙂

What I mean to say is, I’m done with NANOWRIMO (yay?). 🙂 Actually, that’s not true either. My story is FAR from done, it still has some gaps where I couldn’t think of anything, so I just moved on with another story point. But I did reach my goal! I made it to 15,000 on Tuesday.  I’m still working on it, just not as fervently as before.  I learned many things during the month. I learned some new words, or rather, instead of using, say, enthusiastically, or excitedly, I just used the word fervently (I’m pretty sure I’ve never used that word before). 🙂 I learned just how many 1,000 is (and 10,000 is huge). I learned that, even though it may take an hour to write, it may only take a few minutes to read, and it won’t neccicarally be good. I learned about the adventure of everyday life.  I learned I can write 1,000 words in a day, and it’s not as hard as I thought it would be.

Not all of this was because of NANO, but maybe became manifest in my story.

Now, I will have you know, I did not spend my whole month writing. On the contrary, I finished (Yes! Me!*gasp*) a lot of crafty project things I started months, maybe even years ago!

I finished my scrapbook! BA BA DA DUM! You may see pictures of it HERE (Maybe, first person to read this has to click the link and tell me if it worked 😉 Thank you Rae)

I made TWO (count ’em!) pairs of fingerless gloves! These are the ones I made for Hannah’s Birthday. I came up with the pattern with this pair.  So, see? Not only did I finish an old project, I started two new ones (Or you could count it as 5, four for the gloves and one for the rope on Hannah’s), and finished them too!

(Annie leaves to get a “Buttersquashy”) Mmh. Warm cookies are THE BEST! OOH! (runs upstairs to get milk) Ok, now it’s the best. Yum. Mmh. See? I finished that cookie too! Sigh, yep those are pretty much the best cookies. What’s that? You want a “best cookie ever” too? Ok then. 🙂

Buttersquashies

3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1-1/4 cups AP flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 cups quick oats

1-3/4 cups (or more) butterscotch chips

Preheat oven to 375°

Beat butter and both sugars in a large bowl until well blended. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Combine dry ingredents. Gradually add to butter mixture, beating until well blended. Stir in oats and butterscotch, mix well.

Bake on parchment paper for 8-10 minutes.

As I said, pretty much the best cookies ever.

Ok, what was I saying again? Ah yes.

I also memorized my quiz stuff (Still working on it, but it’s a whole lot better than last month, or the month before that). I am much more ready for the quiz Saturday (OMGOODNESS the quiz is Saturday) *faints* *recovers* Ok, maybe I should go study… Nah, I’ll finish this, I have abandoned my friends (I’m sure they have been struggling all month, not knowing what I’VE been doing lol). 

I worked on a few short poems (as part of my story, but I wrote them alone, they just happened to fit.)

The trail rolls ever on and on

Connecting hill and dale

And I too must now march along

On this lonesome trail

The sigh of trees the only sound

As I march to the trails end

The crunch of leaves upon the ground

The call of birds my only friend

I stuffed the turkey! Dad did the dance, Meg and Claire cut the oranges and onions and I stuffed it! 😀 It was gross. I had butter up past my wrists :P. We put a stick of butter under the skin on each side and one on the inside. Gross, but very moist and good after it’s cooked. 🙂

On a different note,

Bunny has started jumping her fence. It is just one wire of electric fence that we move every few days to give her new grass (We don’t have any permanent fence up yet). It’s just about knee high, so she can’t duck under it, but still not just walk out.  I have seen her do this twice. The first time, I was out with Adam and Hannah and she was trying to follow us. The second time, Dad and I were bringing her water in the back of the lawn tractor, and she freaked out and bolted. Now, she doesn’t just walk over the fence like you would think of a cow doing. She high jumps. Like a show horse. At first Mama and Daddy didn’t believe me, thought I was kidding. But then Adam and Hannah said the same thing. Yeah. 😐 We have the weirdest animals…  Must be the names.

I think I’m going to change my template. I want my sidebar back. :\

Wow, that is a long post. I guess I should stop now.

  1. Hehe 😀 The link works! And the scrapbook looks loverly!
    Those fingerless gloves are devine. And those cookies sound scrumptious!
    *Claps hands* yay for you for finished all that stuff!! Better than I can say. I simply cannot wait to say that I have finished the book I’m writing. And have been writing for almost a year now…It’s getting there though.
    Haha, must be the names, huh? Maybe that’s what’s wrong with all OUR animals! Perhaps they just wanted ‘normal’ names…not foreign ones…*strokes chin in thought* 😉

Leave a Comment

