Annie

Time to get serious

In Uncategorized on April 17, 2008 at 1:53 pm

Hello,

Well, I said I would be serious when the time comes.  So here I am, being serious.  First, if you have never been to The Rebelution ask you parents to read "The Myth of Adolescence", it hits some pretty deep stuff, I think they (your parents) would appreciate you having them read it first, and anyone who has kids should read it .

(click the links after you read this post) I was reading on The Rebelution, and I saw a post on the blog, called "The Myth of Adolescence" and I came to this paragraph:

Our world cannot last another generation of Christian young people who fit in. The shackles of society are on our minds and hearts, not our ankles. We are held back only by the myth of adolescence and the lies of social expectations. If we would only recognize that our restraints are illusory, and then let God’s Word and all of history govern our sense of what we are capable of, we would be a force this world could no longer ignore.

We face a crisis and an opportunity. A crisis, in the sense that we can no longer afford to slowly drift towards adulthood, viewing the teen years as a vacation from responsibility, and an opportunity, in the sense that we can embrace life now and make a difference for the glory of God, and for the good our family, our nation, and our world. Look down at your “ankle” and see the pathetic contrivance that has been restraining you. Now renew your mind in the light of God’s Word and take a step forward.

 

Ok, two paragraphs.  That first one realy caught my attention.  Especially that first sentence.  Hmm…

Lioness

  1. You know what the rebelution is, too?! That's awesome! I went to one of their conferences and got a pink do hard things t-shirt. Her's the cool part; I got it autographed by BOTH of the Harris boys! Woo hoo! If want to visit my blog, go to
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/lifeofatuper
    God bless!
    Jan

  2. That's a good article, Lioness. I'm proud of you for thinking about these ideas. I'm proud of you for being brave enough to hold to what you believe, even when it might not be popular. ILU–Mama

  3. Thanks for signing my guest book! Your blog is pretty!

  4. Hi lioness! Thavks so much for commenting! I am very un-computer savvy, so I am not qute sure what PM is. Sorry=) Your blog is so cool! How did you get a picture of design into the space on the About Me section? Dad got me an HTML book, but I have been so busy doing school reading that I haven't had a chance to read it yet! Have a blessed day!
    Jan

  5. Hey, I've updated and I have some questions on my post. Here's the link:
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/RecycledTemplates/519086/

    :::Jo:::

  6. Hey!
    What did you think of the movie you last saw?
    You need to check out the "Daniel Doss Band" website. I just got his cd.
    Love you!
    Aunt D

  7. Neat! My sisters whent to it last year, I really wanted to go, but I couldn't. Oh well… 🙂
    Thanks for the comment! I like that part about Laviathan (is that how you spell it?) in the bible, I have like, that whole page in my Bible high lighted!

    Bye!

Leave a Comment

